top of page

Mom, I'm Getting Married!

May is a beautiful time of the year, when everything is blooming, the weather is warmer and people are looking forward to school being out and summer vacations. May is also a time that we honor our mothers. Mothers are a blessing to us all and can add so much more joy as we plan our weddings!

If you’re fortunate, you have your mother to help you plan your special day. Or you may have a God-mother, special aunt or grandmother to help you with your plans.

I am blessed with a truly amazing mother, who always looks out for others before herself. When I met my husband and began dating him, my mother was so happy for me and supportive. When we began talking about getting married, we planned a very small ceremony (he would have preferred the courthouse!) because we had just purchased a home and wanted to furnish it. Although it was not my first marriage, my mom was excited for us and she was happy to see me with someone that cared so much about me.

My mom and my husband grew closer as we made short road trips together, which sometimes also included her sister. She loved him too! I’m not sure he knew how special he was to everyone. So when my mom offered to pay for our wedding, we were floored! Since we were not your typical young couple (we had children and grandchildren!) we were expecting to pay for everything ourselves. My mom offering so generously to cover everything relieved stress from us and enabled us to have a very special day for the entire family. My children and grand children also stepped in and helped with the little details, making everything so easy for us. We approached our day in peace, without worry or financial stress. The one adjective I can use for the both of us on our wedding day was HAPPY!HAPPY!JOY!JOY! My husband confessed after the wedding that he was glad we had the wedding and had not gone to the courthouse - it was beautiful! Thanks Mom for giving us this very special gift. We love you! L&V

Whoever is there for you, make sure you show them love and appreciation as they move forward with you into a new phase in your life. Happy Mothers Day to all our beautiful mothers!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page